Atmospheric Sciences at the 2016 American Meteorological Society Annual Meeting

The Department of Atmospheric Sciences participates in the Annual Meeting of the American Meteorological Society on many levels each year. This year, two undergraduates presented at the conference, two faculty won prestigious awards, we're hosting an Alumni & Friends reception, we participated in the Career Fair for students, and numerous faculty and graduate students are presenting on research topics. See below for more details about all our department's achievements.

Career Fair

Atmospheric Sciences Academic Coordinator, Michelle Brooks, and several student volunteers spoke to many prospective graduate students at the AMS Career Fair on Saturday, January 9 and Sunday, January 10.




Undergraduates Presenting Their Research

Senior Luke Leclair-Marzolf presented his poster titled, "Evaluation of an Inexpensive Ozone Sensor for Mobile Monitoring" during the Student Poster Session on Sunday, January 10.






Senior Jeff Fitzgerald gave a talk titled, "Stratospheric Impacts on Arctic Sea Ice" during the main conference on Tuesday, January 12.






Alumni & Friends Reception

Check out some of the photos from our AMS Alumni and Friends Reception on Tuesday, January 12, 2016. Alumni, friends, students, faculty, staff, and prospective students all came together to socialize and reconnect at our reception.


Alum Jeff Anderson and current MS student Brian Blaylock







Professors Tim Garrett and John Lin





AMS President and U of U alum Sandy MacDonald and Professor Emeritus Jan Paegle






Awards Banquet Reception

Many of our students, faculty, staff, family, and alums attended the Awards Banquet Reception to honor Drs. John Horel and Edward Zipser. Please join our entire department in congratulating them both on these momentous achievements.


Professor John Horel was awarded the Francis W. Reichelderfer Award at the 2016 AMS Annual Meeting. Congratulations Dr. Horel!





Professor Edward Zipser was awarded the Carl-Gustaf Rossby Research Medal at the 2016 AMS Annual Meeting. Congratulations Dr. Zipser!





Current staff, students, and faculty celebrating with Dr. John Horel after the Awards Banquet Reception.