You are here:

People

Department Directory

Department Administration

Dr. Kevin Perry

Dr. Kevin Perry

Department Chairman
&
Undergraduate Career Advisor

Leslie Allaire

Leslie Allaire

Administrative Manager

 

Michelle Brooks

Michelle Brooks

Academic Advisor

Dr. Zhaoxia Pu

Dr. Zhaoxia Pu

Graduate Student Advisor

Dr. Thomas Reichler

Dr. Thomas Reichler

Graduate Student Advisor


Dr. John Horel

Dr. John Horel

Undergraduate Career Advisor

To ensure that your inquiry is addressed in a timely manner please send
your correspondence to one of the following:

Tenure-Line Faculty

Dr. Tim Garrett

Dr. Timothy Garrett

Professor

William C. Browning Building (WBB)
Rm 821
801-581-5768
tim.garrett@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Aerosol-Cloud-Climate Interactions
Cloud Microphysics
Cloud Dynamics
Environmental Instrumentation
Mountain Meteorology
Non-Equilibrium Thermodynamics
Remote Sensing

 

 

Dr. John Horel

Dr. John Horel

Professor

Intermountain Network and Scientific
Computing Center (INSCC), Rm 483
801-581-7091
john.horel@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Air Quality
Boundary-Layer Meteorology
Environmental Instrumentation
Fire Weather
Mountain Meteorology
Weather Forecasting

Dr. Steve Krueger

Dr. Steven Krueger

Professor

William C. Browning Building (WBB)
Rm 725
801-581-3903
steve.krueger@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Boundary-Layer Meteorology
Cloud Microphysics
Cloud Dynamics
Fire Weather
Radar Meteorology

Dr. John Lin

Dr. John Chun-Han Lin

Associate Professor

William C. Browning Building (WBB)
Rm 721
801-581-7530
john.lin@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Air Quality
Atmospheric Chemistry
Environmental Instrumentation
Greenhouse Gases
Land-Air Interactions
Remote Sensing

 

Dr. Jay Mace

Dr. Gerald (Jay) Mace

Professor

William C. Browning Building (WBB)
Rm 601
801-585-9489
jay.mace@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Aerosol-Cloud-Climate Interactions
Cloud Microphysics
Cloud Dynamics
Environmental Instrumentation
Radar Meteorology
Remote Sensing

 

Dr. Kevin Perry

Dr. Kevin Perry

Associate Professor and Chair

William C. Browning Building (WBB)
Rm 819
801-581-6138
kevin.perry@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Air Quality
Atmospheric Chemistry
Environmental Instrumentation

Dr. Zhaoxia Pu

Dr. Zhaoxia Pu

Professor

William C. Browning Building (WBB)
Rm 712
801-585-3864
zhaoxia.pu@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Boundary-Layer Meteorology
Data Assimilation Methods
Mesoscale Meteorology
Numerical Weather Prediction
Radar and Satellite Data Assimilation
Tropical Meteorology
Weather Forecasting

 

Dr. Thomas Reichler

Dr. Thomas Reichler

Associate Professor

William C. Browning Building (WBB)
Rm 804
801-585-0040
thomas.reichler@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Climate Dynamics
Large-Scale Dynamics
Regional and Global Climate Modeling
Stratosphere
Antarctic Ozone Hole

Dr. Jim Steenburgh

Dr. W. James Steenburgh

Professor

Intermountain Network and Scientific
Computing Center (INSCC), Rm 488
801-581-8727
jim.steenburgh@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Mountain Meteorology
Lake-Effect Snowstorms
Weather Forecasting

Dr. Court Strong

Dr. Courtenay Strong

Associate Professor

William C. Browning Building (WBB)
Rm 702
801-585-0049
court.strong@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Air Quality
Boundary-Layer Meteorology
Cryosphere
Climate Research
Land-Air Interactions

Dr. Edward Zipser

Dr. Edward Zipser

Professor

William C. Browning Building (WBB)
Rm 809
801-585-0467
ed.zipser@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Aerosol-Cloud-Climate Interactions
Climate Research
Cloud Microphysics
Cloud Dynamics
Mesoscale Meteorology
Radar Meteorology
Remote Sensing
Tropical Meteorology

 

 

 

Career-Line Faculty

Dr. Steve Cooper

Dr. Steve Cooper

Research Assistant Professor

William C. Browning Building (WBB)
Rm 822
801-585-0095
steve.cooper@utah.edu

Research Interests: 

Remote Sensing

Dr. Erik Crosman 

Dr. Erik Crosman

Research Assistant Professor

Intermountain Network and Scientific
Computing Center (INSCC)
Rm 480
801-581-6136 (ATMOS Main Office)
erik.crosman@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Cold Pools and Air Quality
Lake and Sea Breezes
Environmental Instrumentation
Numerical Weather Prediction
Remote Sensing of Lakes
Mountain Meteorology
Boundary-Layer Meteorology
Synoptic Meteorology

Dr. Sebastian Hoch 

Dr. Sebastian Hoch

Research Assistant Professor

Intermountain Network and Scientific
Computing Center (INSCC)
Rm 485
801-581-7094
sebastian.hoch@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Atmospheric Radiation
Boundary-Layer Meteorology
Environmental Instrumentation
Mountain Meteorology

Dr. Mary Ann Jenkins 

Dr. Mary Ann Jenkins

Research Associate Professor

William C. Browning Building (WBB)
Rm 719
801-585-9490
maryann.jenkins@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Fire Weather

Dr. Adam Kochanski

Dr. Adam Kochanski

Research Assistant Professor

William C. Browning Building (WBB)
Rm 716
801-585-9487
adam.kochanski@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Numerical Weather Prediction

Dr. Manuel Lehner

Dr. Manuela Lehner

Research Assistant Professor

Intermountain Network and Scientific
Computing Center (INSCC)
Rm 480
801-581-6136 (ATMOS Main Office)
manuela.lehner@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Mountain Meteorology
Thermal Circulations
Boundary-Layer Processes
Numerical Modeling

Dr. Gene Robl

Dr. Gene Robl

Associate Instructor

William C. Browning Building (WBB)
Rm 811
801-581-7321
gene.robl@utah.edu
Dr. Vince Salomonson 

Dr. Vincent Salomonson

Research Professor

William C. Browning Building (WBB)
Rm 809
801-581-6136 (ATMOS Main Office)
vince.salomonson@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Remote Sensing

 
Dr. Kenneth Sassen 

Dr. Kenneth Sassen

Research Professor

William C. Browning Building (WBB)
801-581-6136 (ATMOS Main Office)
kennethsassen@gmail.com

Research Interests:

Remote Sensing

 
Dr. Adam Varble 

Dr. Adam Varble

Research Assistant Professor

William Browning Building (WBB)
Rm 813
801-581-3336
a.varble@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Aerosol-Cloud-Climate Interactions
Cloud Dynamics
Cloud Microphysics
Mesoscale Meteorology
Radar Meteorology
Remote Sensing
Tropical Meteorology

Dr. David Whiteman 

Dr. C. David Whiteman

Research Professor

Intermountain Network and Scientific
Computing Center (INSCC)
Rm 485
801-585-1414
dave.whiteman@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Boundary-Layer Meteorology
Environmental Instrumentation
Mountain Meteorology

Auxiliary Faculty

Jeff Anderson

Dr. Jeffrey Anderson
Adjunct Associate Professor
Institute for Mathematics Applied to Geosciences
National Center for Atmospheric Research
Phone: (303) 497-8991
Email: jla@ucar.edu
CV

Dave Bowling

Dr. David Bowling
Professor
Department of Biology
University of Utah
Phone: (801) 581-2130
Email: david.bowling@utah.edu
CV

Photo coming soon 

Dr. Belay Demoz
Professor
Director, Joint Center for Earth Systems Technology (JCET)
Office: 410-455-2715
Physics, Room 426
JCET Office: 410-455-5706
Email: bdemoz@umbc.edu
CV

Larry Dunn

Dr. Lawrence Dunn
Adjunct Professor
University of Utah
Phone: (801) 577-6912
Email: lbdunn.ut@gmail.com
CV

Photo coming soon 

Dr. Hermann Gerber
Adjunct Professor
Gerber Scientific, Inc
Phone: (703) 742-9844
Email: hgerber6@comcast.net

Haiyan Jiang

Dr. Haiyan Jiang
Associate Professor of Meteorology
Department of Earth & Environment
Florida International University
Phone: (305) 348-2984
Email: haiyan.jiang@fiu.edu
CV

Alan Kerstein

Dr. Alan Kerstein
Adjunct Professor
Sandia National Laboratories (Retired)
Email: alan.kerstein@gmail.com
CV

Steve Lazarus Dr. Steven Lazarus
Professor of Meteorology
Marine and Environmental Systems
Florida Institute of Technology
Phone: (321) 394-2160
Email: slazarus@fit.edu
Website: services.fit.edu/profiles/profile.php?value=65
Chuntao Liu Dr. Chuntao Liu
Assistant Professor
Department of Physical & Environmental Sciences
Texas A&M University, Corpus Christi
Phone: (361) 825-3845
Email: chuntao.liu@tamucc.edu
CV
Photo coming soon
 

Dr. Eric Pardyjak
Professor
Department of Mechanical Engineering
University of Utah
Phone: (801) 585-6414
Email: pardyjak@eng.utah.edu
Website: www.mech.utah.edu/~pardyjak/
CV

Jon Zawislak

Dr. Jonathan Zawislak
Research Assistant Professor
Department of Earth & Environment
Florida International University
Phone: (302)383-9927
Email: jzawisla@fiu.edu
CV

Emeritus Faculty

Emeritus Faculty is a title conferred by The University of Utah for the purpose of recognizing the meritorious service of a faculty member upon or after retirement.  Appointments to emeritus status for retired faculty members are made by the Board of Trustees on recommendation of the President of the University and the Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs.

Jan Paegle

Dr. Jan Paegle
Professor Emeritus                                                                                 
Office: 715 WBB
Phone: Not Available
Email: jan.paegle@utah.edu

Julia Paegle

Dr. Julia Paegle
Professor Emerita
Office: 715 WBB
Phone: Not Available
Email: julia.paegle@utah.edu

Departmental Staff


To ensure that your inquiry is addressed in a timely manner please send your correspondence
to one of the following:

 

Leslie Allaire

Administrative Manager

Department of Atmospheric Sciences
135 S 1460 E, Rm 819
Salt Lake City, UT 84112-0110

801-581-6137

leslie.allaire@utah.edu


Responsibilities:

Departmental Administrative Matters
Problem Solving
State & Research Budgets
Payroll-hiring/terminations
Research Administration
Travel
Procurement
Etc.

Michelle Brooks

Academic Advisor

Department of Atmospheric Sciences
135 S 1460 E, Rm 819
Salt Lake City, UT 84112-0110

801-581-6136

michelle.brooks@utah.edu

Responsibilities:

Academic Advising
Student Recruitment
Curriculum Management
Alumni Relations
Website Maintenance
Scholarship Information
Travel
Etc.

Research Staff

Adam Abernathy Adam Abernathy
Research Associate
Office: 480 INSCC
Phone: Not Available
Email: adam.abernathy@utah.edu
Stephanie Avey Stephanie Avey
Research Associate
Phone: Not Available
Email: stephanie.avey@utah.edu
Sally Benson Sally Benson
Research Associate
Office: 603 WBB
Phone: 801-585-0008
Email: sally.benson@utah.edu
Xia Dong Xia Dong
Research Associate
Office: 480 INSCC
Phone: Not Available
Email: xia.dong@utah.edu

Dr. Henrique Duarte
Post Doctoral Research Associate
Office: 713 WBB
Phone: Not Available
Email: h.duarte@utah.edu

Chris Galli Chris Galli
Research Associate
Office: 482 INSCC
Phone: 801-585-1415
Email:chris.galli@utah.edu
Dr. Mathias Gergely
Post Doctoral Research Associate
Office: 602 WBB
Phone: Not Available
Email: mathias.gergely@utah.edu

Alex Jacques
Post Doctoral Research Associate
Office: 480 INSCC
Phone: Not Available
Email: alexander.jacques@utah.edu

Jeff Jenkins Jeff Jenkins
Research Associate
Office: 480 INSCC
Phone: Not Available
Email: jeffrey.jenkins@utah.edu
Krishna Khatri Dr. Krishna Khatri
Research Assistant Professor in Civil and Environmental Engineering
Office: 704 WBB
Phone: Not Available
Email: krishna.khatri@utah.edu
Luke Leclair-Marzolf Luke Leclair-Marzolf
Research Associate
Office: 480 INSCC
Phone: Not Available
Email: luke.leclair-marzolf@utah.edu
Nola Lucke Nola Lucke
Program Manager
Office: 484 INSCC
Phone: 801-581-4362
Email:nola.lucke@utah.edu

Dr. Daniel Mendoza
Post Doctoral Research Associate
Office: 713 WBB
Phone: Not Available
Email: daniel.mendoza@utah.edu

Dr. Logan Mitchell
Post Doctoral Research Associate
Office: 715 WBB
Phone: Not Available
Email: logan.mitchell@utah.edu

Judy Pechmann Dr. Judy Pechmann
Research Associate
Office: 482 INSCC
Phone: 801-585-1415
Email: judy.pechmann@utah.edu
Joe Young
Research Associate
Office: 480 INSCC
Phone: Not Available
Email: joe.young@utah.edu

Graduate Students

Trey Alvey


Trey Alvey

Graduate Student (Ph.D.)
Office: 806B WBB
Email: g.alvey@utah.edu

Sarah Bang


Sarah Bang

Graduate Student (Ph.D.)
Office: 806B WBB
Email: sarah.bang@utah.edu
Website

Betsy Berry


Betsy Berry

Graduate Student (Ph.D.)
Office: 606 WBB
Email: betsy.berry@utah.edu
Website


Brian Blaylock

Graduate Student (Ph.D.)
Office: 480 INSCC
Email: brian.blaylock@utah.edu

Leah Campbell


Leah Campbell

Graduate Student (Ph.D.)
Office: 480 INSCC
Email: leah.campbell@utah.edu
Website

Doug Catharine


Doug Catharine

Graduate Student (M.S.)
Office: 705 WBB
Email: doug.catharine@utah.edu


Kati Chachere

Graduate Student (Ph.D.)
Office: 814 WBB
Email: c.chachere@utah.edu


Quentin Coopman

Graduate Student (Ph.D.)
Office: 806A WBB
Email: quentin.coopman@utah.edu
Website


Kevin Craft

Graduate Student (M.S.)
Office: 480 INSCC
Email: kevin.craft@utah.edu

Ben Fasoli


Ben Fasoli

Graduate Student (M.S.)
Office: 723 WBB
Email: b.fasoli@utah.edu

Chris Foster


Chris Foster

Graduate Student (Ph.D.)
Office: 480 INSCC
Email: chris.foster@utah.edu


Ali Gingrey

Graduate Student (M.S.)
Email: alexandria.gingrey@utah.edu

Ian Glenn


Ian Glenn

Graduate Student (Ph.D.)
Office: 727 WBB 
Email: ian.glenn@utah.edu

Tom Gowan


Tom Gowan

Graduate Student (M.S.)
Office: 480 INSCC
Email: tom.gowan@utah.edu

Nessa Hock


Nessa Hock

Graduate Student (M.S.)
Office: 709 WBB
Email: nessa.hock@utah.edu

Derek Hodges


Derek Hodges

Graduate Student (Ph.D.)
Office: 710 WBB
Email: derek.g.hodges@utah.edu

Lacey Holland


Lacey Holland

Graduate Student (Ph.D.)
Office: 814 WBB
Email: lacey.holland@utah.edu
Website


Hao-Jhe Hong

Graduate Student (Ph.D.)
Office: 806A WBB
Email: haohje.hong@utah.edu

Matt Horan


Matthew Horan

Graduate Student (M.S.)
Office: 806B WBB
Email: matthew.horan@utah.edu

Andy Lesage


Andy Lesage

Graduate Student (Ph.D.)
Office: 727 WBB
Email: andy.lesage@utah.edu


Wyndam Lewis

Graduate Student (M.S.)
Office: 480 INSCC
Email: wyndam.lewis@utah.edu

Funing Li


Funing Li

Graduate Student (Ph.D.)
Office: 709 WBB
Email: funing.li@utah.edu

Derek Mallia


Derek Mallia

Graduate Student (Ph.D.)
Office: 723 WBB
Email: derek.mallia@utah.edu
Website

Jeana Mascio


Jeana Mascio

Graduate Student (Ph.D.)
Office: 604 WBB
Email: jeana.mascio@utah.edu
Taylor McCorkle


Taylor McCorkle

Graduate Student (M.S.)
Office: 480 INSCC
Email: taylor.mccorkle@utah.edu

Crystal Painter


Crystal Painter

Graduate Student (M.S.)
Office: 806C WBB
Email: crystal.painter@utah.edu

Ross Petersen


Ross Petersen

Graduate Student (M.S.)
Office: 814 WBB
Email: ross.petersen@utah.edu

Peter Saunders


Peter Saunders

Graduate Student (Ph.D.)
Office: 710 WBB
Email: peter.saunders@utah.edu


Claire Schirle

Graduate Student (M.S.)
Office: 806B WBB
Email: claire.schirle@utah.edu

Kimi Smith


Kimi Smith

Graduate Student (Ph.D.) 
Office: 705 WBB
Email: kimi.smith@utah.edu


McKenna Stanford

Graduate Student (M.S.)
Office: 806C WBB
Email: mckenna.stanford@utah.edu
Ahmad Talaei


Ahmad Talaei

Graduate Student (Ph.D.)
Office: 806A WBB
Email: ahmad.talaei@utah.edu


Prabhat Thakur

Graduate Student (M.S.)
Office: 727 WBB
Email: prabhat.thakur@utah.edu
Peter Veals


Peter Veals

Graduate Student (Ph.D.)
Office: 480 INSCC
Email: peter.veals@utah.edu
Michael Wessler


Michael Wessler

Graduate Student (M.S.)
Office: 480 INSCC
Email: m.wessler@utah.edu


Tyler West

Graduate Student (Ph.D.)
Office: 480 INSCC
Email: tyler.k.west@utah.edu


Dien Wu

Graduate Student (Ph.D.)
Office: 723 WBB
Email: dien.wu@utah.edu
Winnie Wu


Zheng (Winnie) Wu

Graduate Student (M.S.)
Office: 806A WBB
Email: zheng.winnie.wu@utah.edu


Zeqian (Hazel) Xia

Graduate Student (M.S.)
Office: 604 WBB
Email: zeqian.xia@utah.edu

Zhuocan Xu


Zhuocan Xu

Graduate Student (Ph.D.)
Office: 606 WBB
Email: zhuocan.xu@utah.edu
Chris Yu


Chau Lam (Chris) Yu

Graduate Student (M.S.)
Office: 709 WBB
Email: chaulam.yu@utah.edu

Shixuan Zhang


Shixuan Zhang

Graduate Student (Ph.D.)
Office: 710 WBB
Email: shixuan.zhang@utah.edu
Lauren Zuromski


Lauren Zuromski

Graduate Student (M.S.)
Office: 723 WBB
Email: lauren.zuromski@utah.edu

Visiting Scientists

Iris Feigenwinter

University of Basel
Switzerland

February 20 - July 1, 2016

Working with Dr. Dave Whiteman

Juliana Hernandez

National University of Colombia

September 1, 2016 - February 28, 2017

Working with Dr. John Lin

Dr. Yan Li

Lanzhou University

Lanzhou, China

March 2016 - February 2017

Working with Dr. Zhaoxia Pu

Junkao Liu

Working with Dr. Pu

Feimin Zhang

Lanzhou University
Lanzhou, China

July 2015 - January 2017

Working with Dr. Zhaoxia Pu on data assimilation

 

Last Updated: 1/18/17